The Lonely Mountain

My man took me to an area of Navajo Nation I hadn’t yet seen.  He jokingly refers to this mountain as The Lonely Mountain.  I’m sure you can guess why.  While we live in Arizona, the red sandstone rocks made me feel as though I had crossed over to Utah on this trip.

 

Navajo Mountain

Pinyon and Juniper dominate this area – another commonality with southeastern Utah.

Raven Over Navajo Mountain

The scenery viewed from the road alone is enough to make the trip worthwhile.

The Road To The Lonely Mountain

Once on Navajo Mountain, I felt right at home.  Dirt roads, pinon and juniper trees, prickly pear cactus, and plenty of wildlife.  It was just like being at my parent’s house in Montezuma Canyon.

Navajo Mountain

In fact, the mountain actually sits just by the border of Utah, and is actually located in Utah.

Cliffs Of Navajo Mountain

Sometimes all you need is to get out, walk, breathe, and take in the scenery.  A perfectly peaceful day.  Thanks to my man for showing me this Beauty.

Drop A Note

